You Take Me Back

I turn away,

  But You pull me back.

You hold on to me,

  And You will love me forever,

Though I fail You daily

  And cause You such grief –

How many times?

 

Each day there are challenges,

  Distractions,

Heartbreaks,

  And You are the only place

Where I can find true peace,

  Yet I stray from your loving arms

To seek satisfaction

  In other things.

 

But still You are there,

  Waiting for me

Every time.

  You comfort me in times of sorrow –

When all I feel is pain.

  But how can I face You

With all this guilt?

  How can I explain Your grace?

What kind love is this?

 

God, You are amazing,

  I face You humbly, praying.

Your mercy is boundless,

  There are no words.

Your love is eternal;

  And You take me back – 

Every single time.

 

          ~ Ilana Reimer

Share your thoughts!

