Over the edge

edge of the earth

Stuart Rankin via Flickr

I’ve just fallen from the sky,

But I hit the ocean running;

What happens when you go too far,

And fall off the edge of the world?

Chasing dragonflies again

Down this rough dirt road,

I can feel the thunder pulsing through my brain

And I see the smallness of my heart,

Beside the one who makes the sun look dark –

I don’t know how I can survive at all;

A hot wind tosses the trees aside,

I watch in fear as murky clouds throttle me

I’ll break loose – I always do,

For there’s a hand I’m holding on to

Bare feet hit the asphalt

As I wander slowly home,

Unaware of peril waiting at my door

Who knows when I’ll slip,

And tumble slowly over the brink;

Who knows when the whirring and ticking will cease,

When this well-oiled machine will stop for good;

Then I s’pose I’ll finally know,

What happens when you go too far,

And fall off the edge of the world.

~ Ilana Reimer

Share your thoughts!

