Good talk

DSCN0555(3)
Ilana Reimer photo

I keep thinking that I get this game,

That I can play by all the rules,

Do all the things I’m supposed to,

In fact I’m really good at doing,

But I’m not too great at being;

You told me to just sit there,

‘How about you stop shouting

And just listen?’

But slaying dragons would be easier

Than banishing these dizzy thoughts;

Instead I launch into another monologue,

Always running away

Before you share your sweet confidences

Good talk, I say.

But it’s not really a conversation

If I’m the only one doing the talking.

~ Ilana Reimer

2 thoughts on “Good talk

Share your thoughts!

