Can’t erase

Solitude

Alex Berger via Flickr

I shiver and wait

There in the bitter wind,

Huddled in my jacket,

Lost in circling thoughts;

I don’t fear what comes next,

But I do wonder why it is

That some days

I wish I could care more,

And other days

I only wish I didn’t care as much.

I want to go back and rewrite those words,

But erasing the memories

Won’t change a thing

I can’t deny I ever said those things,

So now I’m glad for time alone;

I still wish I could erase the ache,

But if I could, how would I learn?

For my mind is so much clearer now –

The whisperings of my God,

Are magnified in solitude.

~ Ilana Reimer

2 thoughts on “Can’t erase

Share your thoughts!

