Mother

mommy and I 2

I sit on the floor

As her thin, strong fingers

Work out the knots, the stress –

Worried about finals,

Worried about everything;

I’m a little girl again, curled up small –

She doesn’t say much,

Just listens to my broken words;

Together we sit

In the dark living room

Gently she rubs my head,

Then takes my hand in hers,

Massaging each finger;

This is how she loves me,

Not just in the big,

But in the minuscule too

My mind slows and the panic subsides;

This is how she loves me,

Not just when I’m strong,

But when I’m weak as well.

~ Ilana Reimer

Share your thoughts!

