Light in your eyes

DSCN0993
Ilana Reimer photo

The light in your eyes

Looks green at first,

But it changes colour all the time,

As the pictures in my mind

Form the words I chase after,

The elusive becoming tangible –

No longer merely wisps of cloud,

But raindrops resting in my palm;

I run barefoot down the twisting, blackened lane,

And feel the cracked leaves beneath my feet,

See the branches rattling on icy stones,

You reach out to hold my hand,

As your skin becomes transparent – gold

Now I can hear your voice,

Just how it used to sound, long ago,

And if I close my eyes,

I can just make out the words you wrote –

Even though you’re gone.

~ Ilana Reimer

Share your thoughts!

