Escaping thunder

6088690308_1439df8198_b

Vishwas Krishna via Flickr

The sunflowers look away,

Lest their golden faces blind me,

As I race down this silver ribbon of a road,

Running faster than the thoughts I leave behind;

And despite the speed, I’m still inside –

My turmoil becoming only dotted lines and telephone poles,

My worry melting into corn fields,

And my plans consumed by gathering clouds;

I smile at the rain, and dive into a darkening valley,

Thus to escape the thunder

That chases me back home.

~ Ilana Reimer

Share your thoughts!

