Take my picture, please

DSC_0240
Ilana Reimer photo

Take my picture, please, she said

Her words drawing me out from my daydream,

I used to be a dancer, she said,

I used to make a living by my looks;

I was beautiful then, she said,

Not knowing she’s beautiful still.

She forgot to take her meds today,

She’s jittery, doesn’t know where to look,

My kids have been bugging me, she said

They want to have a picture,

Some way to capture this:

Her green eyes and half smile,

They want to freeze this moment,

Memorize every curve and line –

And so she’s doing this for them,

Take my picture, please, she said

Give them something to hold on to.

~ Ilana Reimer

Share your thoughts!

