Fisted heart

dress-2
Aily Torres photo

I was younger then, in my blue dress,

Wandering the stage alone;

Every thought was a revelation I longed to share with you,

We slipped on ice, skittering across the parking lot,

And then I closed a fist around my tired heart,

Because there was no other way to keep it all together.

I was late, always too late to see,

And as the years passed, I’ve become later still;

But sitting on the bus I’m no longer alone,

Somehow that heart I clasped within a fist,

Fights on, beating harder now, it won’t give in;

Perhaps there’s cynicism in this, I don’t know,

But strangers I see no longer hurt me,

Even though that stage is gone, those days have passed,

And my thoughts are no longer revelations –

They’re old and over-trodden paths,

Because I was late, always too late to see,

And as years passed, I’ve become later still;

Back then I stood in the face of bright lights

And spoke with triumph, knowing you believed in me.

Now everything is slightly twisted,

Yet strangely in the twisting,

I’ve come to understand more clearly;

No longer too late, now I see,

The years have passed, and my fisted heart smiles;

I’m not too late. For once, just once, the timing might be right.

~ Ilana Reimer

2 thoughts on “Fisted heart

Share your thoughts!

